Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Baby Number 2

So the news is out!


Now you are fully able to feel bad for me for moving and having the stomach flu on top of being pregnant. I know Hitler was a man, but I still wouldn't even wish that on him. It was wretched.

And yes, December 2nd, is also my Birthday. :)

This pregnancy has been pretty different so far.

I haven't been as sick this pregnancy. I still have my nauseous days, but they're getting less frequent as I'm in the middle of week 13. (Last week of the fist trimester.) I've mostly been TIRED and extremely cravey. Poor Logan. But, we've only had ice cream for dinner once... and I've only called him crying about a chicken sandwich once... So it could be worse.

One of the biggest differences this time is that I've had more food aversions. Most days I literally feel like nothing sounds good. At all. Except if I think really hard I can usually find one food that sounds kinda sorta like it won't make me want to throw up. It's usually something we don't have or something that doesn't actually exist.

I've been really into banana milkshakes for some reason. I'm obsessed.

We think it's a boy. The early ultrasound thinks it's a frog. ;) We would be thrilled with a boy or girl, but we are sort of hoping for a boy.

I've felt some little baby movements already (way earlier than last time), but I feel like it's hard to always know for sure this early on because they feel so much like the normal stomach gurgles when they're still so little.

According to my apps, the baby is the size of a jalepeno, matchbox car, or lime. (I like The Bump and Ovia Pregnancy for apps.) I've definitely started showing a lot earlier this time around. And I've been feeling some really fun incision stretching.

I've also been doing actual exercises this time because I found one on youtube that I really like by Anna Saccone. It kicks prenatal booty. She has one for all 3 trimesters. I actually made Logan do it one day and he was impressed with the workout it is. Here's the link if you're interested. I did trimester 2 for the first time today and holy moly. I love it. And I'm not a work out kind of person.

Also, I get this question a lot since Audrey was a planned csection. Yes, I do want to try a VBAC this time. I'd really REALLY like to not have a csection again if I can avoid it.


In other news...

Logan is still working up a storm and loving it! He's learning a TON, and we're really glad that we decided to come up here and let him have this experience. Our plan is still to move back to the family farm in August.

We also have plans to visit Atlanta (where Logan served his mission) and go to Colorado for my beautiful best friend's wedding in August. Yes. I will be 6 months pregnant, and we are choosing to go to a hot and humid place... We'll just stick to air conditioned places like the aquarium!

The weather has been hot up here, so we've been swimming in the pool at our apartment and going to a splash park nearby to stay cool.

Audrey is no longer crawling. She's all walk and ALL talk. This girl talks to me all day. She's starting to say more words on purpose, which is really fun. Her favorites are: uh oh, bonk, ball, neigh, bottle, temple, momma, daddy, thank you, and banana. Of course, Logan and I are the only ones that understand what she is saying, but she's getting there.

Remember that banana milkshakes save lives, cloudy days were invented to watch Jane Austen movies, and that Ross has really cute maternity clothes!

Friday, May 5, 2017

Hello Again!

So I kept waiting to hear back from Logan's internship to write an official "Hey, we're moving to the Tricities" blog... But they didn't give us a date and address until a week before we moved... So instead, I'm writing a "Hey, we moved to the Tricities" blog. :) Also, it's totally fine that I haven't blogged in 6 months...

Logan graduated!! Yay! We're done! We were sad to leave our friends in Rexburg, but glad to be moving on to the next phase of life.

Moving was a little nuts. We were hosting my family and Logan's, packing up, and celebrating Logan's graduation all at once. We spent a couple of days back on the family farm sorting through what we wanted to take with us. Our apartment here is provided by the company he is interning for, and is "furnished" ... sort of. So we didn't bring a whole lot of stuff.



The night before the big move to Washington, I woke up in the night with the stomach flu. (Audrey had it the night before.) I was pretty much no help whatsoever with packing up the trailer and deciding what to take. Logan and his family did it all! We only left a few important things behind... Who needs the other half of the baking supplies anyways?

Also, a 7-hour drive is not so awesome when you have the stomach flu. But, we made it in one piece, and were SO grateful for the help that Logan's family gave us.

Logan is loving his internship up here. He is farming, of course. They grow mainly potatoes and wheat, but also do some onions, carrots, and even organic peas. The "small" portion of the farm he is working on for this summer is 18,000 acres! He is learning the difference between a family farm and a corporate farm. There are lots of pros and lots of cons, just like anything. But, he is learning what he likes and lots of new ways of doing things.

One of the things he really likes about up here is how much he is learning about different ways to do what he's been doing his whole life. He says he asks questions all day, and is learning so much! He also gets to speak Spanish all day. He really likes that.

The thing we like least about being up here is that we are a 40 minute drive away from the farm, and family isn't really allowed to be involved on the farm. We also only have 1 car, so Audrey and I pretty much hang out in the apartment all day everyday, which gets really old. But, it's only a few months... And we're thinking about buying a second car.

Also, did I mention he is working 6AM-6PM, plus the long commute? I'm only going crazy on some days.

P.S. Can anyone tell me why I decided not to bring books or other craft stuff? I only brought stuff to sew... And I don't even like sewing. Maybe I'll be singing a different tune in a couple of months.

We celebrated our 2nd anniversary. So I guess we're totally an old married couple now. Obviously.


Audrey turned ONE last week. I can hardly believe it! She is such a delight and we love her! She's walking pretty well, but still choosing to crawl a lot too. She has 6 teeth. She loves books and dancing to any kind of beat. She is still a Daddy's girl, but likes Mom ok too.





We did a little smash cake, and she really went to town on it. She even wanted to share with Mom and Dad.


    

Yum. Slimey frosting hands.

And as far as farm quirks go....

I've only been out to the farm one time, but I can tell you one new thing about this farm. Remember when I told you what a pivot is? (Yes, this is a test.) Well, here, they call them circles instead of pivots. Ta da! I totally know everything about Washington farming... [Insert cheesy grin here]

Just remember that bringing only sewing stuff to a new state does not make you like it, and you always need an umbrella when you live in Washington. :)