I am 36 weeks today! This means I am officially starting month 9. Woop!
I went NUTS organizing the nursery yesterday, so it is pretty much all ready any time she decides to grace us with her presence.
Today I have been craving crab and cream cheese wontons (or rangoons), watermelon, glazed doughnuts, Taco Bell's bean burritos, and Sprite.
Everything feels a little swollen and pretty uncomfortable, which means that I am having a pretty normal pregnancy. The carpal tunnel (that really only hurts one of my fingers in my right hand) is my current least favorite symptom.
I'm having contractions pretty much everyday. Just your average practice contractions. It just feels like my belly becomes really tight for a little bit.
I'll try to take a bump picture soon. It's just been quite a long and exhausting day today. I'll tell you what I look like: Pregnant and uncomfortable. ;)
A couple of weeks ago, the doctor felt that little tater was head down. Today at my appointment, we learned that she has flipped around and is now a breach baby. :/ (Of course, this is the one appointment since moving here that Logan wasn't able to come to. Gah!)
She is in the Frank Breach position. This means she is kind of folded in half, bottom down, head and feet up. While this sounds super uncomfortable, it is not really a problem until it comes to labor and delivery time.
So I got to have a 3-hour appointment today. I had a few ultrasounds, an NST, and an AFI. [I really wanted to use the abbreviations to sound cool.]
NST = Non-stress test. They strap a fetal heart monitor to your belly to monitor baby's heart rate, and a [insert name I already forgot here] monitor to monitor contractions. It doesn't hurt. It isn't invasive. You basically lay there for 20 minutes and push a button every time you feel the baby move.
With my ninja baby, I told the lady that I just couldn't push the button every time because she is just a constant mover. Needless to say, she got enough movements in the first, ohhh, 2 minutes or so. :) Everything looks great. And it was pretty cool to hear her heartbeat [and occasional kicks to the monitor] for 20 minutes. And the other monitor confirmed that I am having contractions, which is good. :)
AFI = Amniotic Fluid Index. This is a normal ultrasound where they measure how much fluid you have around the baby. Again. Not painful. Not invasive. Just gooey, as all ultrasounds are.
I have a mid-high amount of fluid, which is probably why she was able to flip around this late in the game. It's nothing to worry about. In fact, it may just make it easier to get her to flip around the way we want her.
Also, while he was ultrasounding, I had the doctor check again and confirm that tater is, in fact, a little lady. And, she is. :) All the pink outfits we have won't go to waste. Whew! [Because we all know that is the most important thing... Haha]
So our options are pretty much:
1) Hope she flips around on her own. I can try old wives tales and things that people swear by to try to get her to move too, I guess.
2) Try an inversion. This is where I go into the hospital in the labor and delivery department and get an IV. Then doc will try to manually turn the baby around. They give you something to soften the uterus a little to make manipulation easier. They don't force it.
There are some risks involved with this. Sometimes this means that you have to have an emergency C-section right there, which is why they do it in the hospital. But, if it works out, I could still have a vaginal birth.
3) Schedule a C-Section for about 39 weeks. This is not my first choice. I'd rather not have a C section if I can avoid it. That being said, we will do what is going to be best for a happy, healthy baby and momma.
So, we'll see if the little ninja decides to flip by Thursday, and make decisions from there. We feel peace about the situation. We don't know how it is going to work out, just that it will according to the Lord's plan. Any prayers and happy thoughts are welcome!
Remember that prayer works, and that if your husband wants a carpet rake for your first anniversary, it's a good sign that you found a keeper. ;)
No comments:
Post a Comment