Monday, September 30, 2019

Sister or Brother, We're Having Another!

Woo. It's been a hot minute since I've been on here. Let's just say that Callum's first year of life completely and totally floored me, and I never got back at it. Aaaand let's just ignore the fact that I need to update this blog pronto.

Welcome back!



So yes, SURPRISE, Baby # 3 is on the way, and has been letting me know since day 1. Literally. I'll be 14 weeks in a couple of days.

Honestly, this news is not a surprise to many because I have looked like 6 months pregnant since month 1 (My body: Oh, hCG? I know what to do with that. Boom! Belly.) and also because I've been pretty sick.

I have been sicker from the very start than I have been with either of my other pregnancies. This one has really been a doosy.

Logan was totally convinced that I was having twins because everything has just been a little more extreme this time around. I'm actually due on April 1, and we decided that if we were having twins, we would have no choice but to name them Fred and George, even if they were girls. Good thing we're just having one, huh?

I have been very nauseous. I am not a puker, but I just feel sick constantly. It's like walking around, always feeling carsick. I've also been having terrible migraines and headaches--so fun when you can't take anything good for them. (If you're wondering, my preggo go to's are peppermint [oil, Altoids, herb tea] and caffeine [pass the DP, please].) I am having more and more feeling-good days as each week goes by though.

One of the biggest differences this time around is I've been feeling very depressed and completely unmotivated and unenthusiastic about everything. Like I mean everything. Food, shopping, cleaning, reading, sleeping, etc. In talking to a friend, I learned that this is a real thing that affects a lot of pregnant women called prenatal depression/anxiety. I had never heard of it before, but it is no walk in the park. That paired with morning sickness has been a bit much for me for this wonderful harvest time of year. (Logan's been working 14-16 hour days, 6 days a week!) But hey, the kids are still alive and fed, so we've got to call that a victory. Plus, I have a great support system of family and friends. I have felt this lessen quite a bit though as I've started to feel better and be able to be up and doing more.

I've also had more food aversions than ever before. New to me also is metal mouth. That's when your mouth just randomly tastes like metal. What to Expect actually uses the word "normal" to describe this. I'm sorry. A mouth that tastes like metal is not normal. Haha

Here's the biggest FAQ, so I'll just address it here. I am planning on a csection this time, so the little tiebreaker will most likely arrive in late March. I could technically try another VBAC, and if I did go into hard labor before my planned csection and it actually looked like it was progressing, I might try it. But, I feel like I have had a pretty clear answer to my prayers that a csection is just best for me, for whatever reason. And that really is ok with me.

We both think this baby is a girl, mainly because of all of the old wives tales like feeling extra sick. I also only struggled with headaches with Audrey. But here's the kicker...

Logan doesn't want to find out gender.

Yeah.

I'm not jazzed about that idea at all. But I am totally gonna try because it's really important to him. But, we may end up being a Jaxon and Suki (Gilmore Girls) and if we are, I will absolutely make him a button and I will be allowed to tell no one else.

Audrey took a little while to warm up to the idea of another baby, but now she is pretty darn excited about it. Callum has no clue what's going on, but follows along with Audrey's excitement anyways. Ignorance is bliss at this point.

We're thrilled! And tired. And really excited for Harvest to end. We've still got a ways to go on that though.


Remember: Drinking pickle juice may not cure metal mouth as suggested, but you should do it anyways because it is delicious. (Trust me, I'm pregnant.)

2 comments:

  1. I'll try saving my pickle juice and you. ����

    ReplyDelete
  2. I was worried about you mixing pregnancy with potato harvest! I am glad you are getting a lot of help. Stay strong! But don't feel bad bad if you have to cry every once in a while, that usually helps my migraines.

    ReplyDelete